Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog

Conservative Views

41 Years Ago Today – The Battle of Khe Sanh began

This post is in honor of the Marines, (Soldiers, Sailors and Airmen as well) who fought in, and the many who died, during the part of the Tet Offensive known as the battle of Khe Sanh. Reading about the battle sends shivers of pride through me as our brave Military honored their code and gave their best, in this battle. No one at that time knew that the North Vietnamese had the resources to mount such a huge offensive, so our troops were caught completely by surprise. Those who fought had to rise to a huge challenge and give everything they had to push the enemy back. My compliments to all our Viet Nam veterans who fought this battle, and thanks be to God for all who survived. Please feel free to comment here, and speak your mind and reflect. God Bless the US Military and all our military heros, past, present and future. Thanks and Welcome Home to all.

marines-at-khe-sanh Links to the detailed story and sites dedicated to telling the facts about this battle, challenges, memories and the heroism as told by those who were there:

The Battle of Khe Sanh – 1968 by Peter Brush source Vanderbilt University Library

Khe Sanh Veteran’s Homepage

Mahalo Answers info sheet

A quote from the KS Vets HP that caught my attention, as it gives the truth that still applies today:

“Let us understand: North Vietnam cannot defeat or humiliate the United States. Only Americans can do that.”

Richard M. Nixon, television broadcast, 3 Nov. 1969.

Khe Sanh video documentary via YouTube:

Warning: Anyone posting anything disrespectful to any Veteran who comments here will be humiliated or deleted. That’s a promise.

January 22, 2009 - Posted by | Commentaries, In the News | , , ,

25 Comments »

  1. I was there for the entire siege I was Navy serving the 26th rienforced 3rd Mar. Div. Your article should make mention of the other services who ate shit and died at Khe Sanh . I was medivaced out 14 -4- 68 after probably saving one hell of a bunch of Jar-heads , God love em . S F MIke

    Comment by mike ''animal'' preston | January 22, 2009

  2. GET THE NAME RIGHT ITS NOT KHA SANN DUMMIES IT S KHE SANH !

    Comment by mike ''animal'' preston | January 22, 2009

  3. I love the Navy too, so I will make the correction. Thanks for coming by and commenting.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | January 22, 2009

  4. Thank You from this Old Seabee ( US Navy ) for remembering us who served there. I spent almost 8 months of my life at that base, and for 77 days thought it might end there.
    Semper Fi to all my Brothers
    “CAN DO ”
    Sam Messer

    Comment by Sam Messer | January 22, 2009

  5. Thanks for the Khe Sanh post. Nice of you to put it together. I was with Kilo 3/26 on Hill 861 during the Siege.

    Sorry that Mike Preston had to belittle you and your initial spelling of Khe Sanh. He could have been more considerate of your efforts, but that’s him.

    It’s sometimes spelled Khe Sahn too — it was spelled that way in many military reports, UPI and AP articles back then — but Sanh is the more accepted way. One of the main streets at the Marine Corps Recruit Depot in San Diego was spelled Khe Sahn for decades!

    Thanks again. Dennis

    Comment by Dennis Mannion -- USMC | January 22, 2009

  6. Thank you Dennis. I’m not sure whether he is commenting on spelling or the pronunciation of the Brits doing the video, as I could find no reference to the spelling, but it doesn’t matter. You all fought, bled and some died for the right to say what you think and I honor that here with love! Since I was in 7th grade when the battle started, and have never been an “Asian Scholar” the hard way, I will apologize for misspelling or mispronunciation, and not take offense. You all lived the horror and uncertainty; and I thank you for that and my freedom. The one thing this ole girl will apologize for always, is the lack of appreciation for your service and the not so warm welcome many of you received from Americans when you came home from serving. I salute you all.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | January 22, 2009

  7. Sam, my mother’s family were “Navy People”. Her uncle was a retired officer who served in WWII and Korea. My uncle, her brother, served in a submarine during WWII. Sooo, I love the old salty dogs too. I was jumping up and down when the Navy team won over Army this year and then had to apologize to my son (Army Airborne) for my enthusiasm!!! My father was a WWII Marine. When he died in 2001, he had requested being buried with his Marine Corps ring. In our haste, we took the ring to the mortuary and forgot his dentures! But we remembered the ring by God!!!! LOL!!!

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | January 22, 2009

  8. I have another post dedicated to all vets and from my civilian perspective and I would be honored to have you all read.

    Cutting your teeth in battle

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | January 22, 2009

  9. Thanks for the post H.A.M. and I agree that Mike Preston could have been somewhat more tactful and respectful, irregardless how it was spelled.

    Many of us were a mere 18 yrs old, having landed in-country just hours before Tet started – many remember being literally scared shitless during the first few hours.

    Semper Fi and Welcome Home to all of those who came back!

    USMC / 1968 – 1972

    Comment by Travel Agent | January 22, 2009

  10. I thank God for getting out of there and for getting all of us who did get out. I also pray to Him for the family who lost their loved ones.
    It almost seems like a dream now but a very scary dream. I thank all my Khe Sanh brothers for never quitting.
    Semper Fi to you all.

    Comment by Bill Balzano | February 10, 2009

  11. Thank you for commenting Bill and thank you for your service. Travel Agent is a Marine who was 2 weeks past his 18th birthday when he was there. You all deserve every blessing God can give you, and Welcome Home.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 10, 2009

  12. Hello, I can’t understand how to add your blog ( hoosierarmymom.wordpress.com ) in my rss reader
    ————————
    ad: http://natashavh1f.lised.ru/

    Comment by vepliereica | February 16, 2009

  13. I’ll see if I can figure it out and email you. I’m not well versed on RSS feeds myself.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 16, 2009

  14. I am trying to get in contact with Dennis Mannion. My dad was with Kilo Co. hill 861 during the tet. His name is Ed Kerns or they knew him as Fast Eddie. Do you know him? I am trying to contact some soldiers that he was with during that time. God Bless you I have a tremendous amount of respect for everyone who served there.

    Comment by Cory Kerns | April 17, 2009

  15. Hi Cory. I have access to Dennis’s email address. I will email him your comment and email address so he can contact you. I prefer to do it that way for the sake of privacy. But I’m willing to do that for any of our Vets and their dear families. I know it is very healing for them to connect with people who are a part of the whole.

    Respects, Judy aka Hoosier Army Mom

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | April 17, 2009

  16. Judy: My son recently saw the posting on your site from Cory Kerns ( back on April 17, 2009 ) about Cory’s uncle Ed Kerns — a member of Kilo 3/26 on Hill 861 during the siege. It is OK to give my email address to Cory. If you tried to contact me (as you said in a followup post to Cory, I never got it. ) Regards, Dennis

    Comment by Dennis Mannion | June 8, 2009

  17. Thank you Dennis. I did send something to your email address on your post but it probably got caught up in the spam, there is so much spamming these days.

    I will forward your email address to Cory and thank you for responding with permission to do so. I think part of honoring those who served is sharing with families in this way. Thank you again for your service Dennis and welcome home.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | June 8, 2009

  18. I served with W 1bn 13th Marines from Nov67 to May68 at Khe sanh. I rememeber the fears, the joys and good friends.

    Comment by aaron baskin jr | June 18, 2009

  19. From the bottom of my heart, thank you Aaron. Do you ever go to the Khe Sanh Veterans site. I found it moving and inspiring.

    I’m writing a blog on the history of mainstream media bias going back to Viet Nam and found some profound words written to a hometown paper by a Khe Sanh Marine that didn’t make it back. I just want people to hear his words again and in doing so, honor the fallen Nam heroes. I’ll get it posted one of these days soon I hope.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | June 19, 2009

  20. I am trying to find any information about a writing titled ” A Boy Died For Me Today In Khe Sahn” It starts off with that line. ” A boy died for me today in Khe Sahn ” and then follows, ” I didn’t know him and he didn’t know me. But he died for me just the same. ” It was possibly written in Massachusetts around the same time as the seige. Any one know of it? Thanks to all

    Comment by Bruce | June 25, 2009

  21. Bruce,

    I would try asking about it on the Khe Sanh Veteran’s Homepage

    There are a lot of “artifacts” about Khe Sanh in their files and there is a forum kind of link there where you can ask them if they know about it. In the meantime, if I come across it, I will forward the info on to you.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | June 25, 2009

  22. I just saw your post Dennis….hoosierarmymom, I didn’t get your email for Dennis contact…..or I overlooked it…..could you please send me that information again….thank you….

    Comment by cory kerns | January 4, 2012

  23. My first cousin, Robert ‘Bob’ Wolftongue, was at Khe Sanh with I believe the 2nd Marine Division in 1968. He had a commo MOS. He passed away in ’74, but would appreciate hearing from anyone who might have known him. He was a member of the Southern Cheyenne tribe of Oklahoma….and a good brother to us. God Bless all of you who served especially on this holiday weekend.

    Comment by John West | May 28, 2012

  24. Hello my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, great written and
    include almost all significant infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .

    Comment by action plan template for reading | January 18, 2013

  25. Please let me kno if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog.
    You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast mme an email if interested. Thank you!

    Comment by www.dvbshop.nl | September 14, 2013


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

