Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog

Conservative Views

Was Jefferson a Prophet?

Thomas Jefferson could be called a prophet.

When we get piled upon one another in large cities, as in Europe, we shall become as corrupt as Europe .
Thomas Jefferson

The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not.
Thomas Jefferson


It is incumbent on every generation to pay its own debts as it goes. A principle which if acted on would save one-half the wars of the world.
Thomas Jefferson

I predict future happiness for Americans if they can prevent the government from wasting the labors of the people under the pretense of taking care of them.
Thomas Jefferson

My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government
Thomas Jefferson

No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms.
Thomas Jefferson

The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government.
Thomas Jefferson

The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants.
Thomas Jefferson

To compel a man to subsidize with his taxes the propagation of ideas which he disbelieves and abhors is sinful and tyrannical.
Thomas Jefferson

Very Interesting Quote

In light of the present financial crisis, it’s  interesting to read what Thomas Jefferson said in 1802 :

‘I believe that banking institutions are more dangerous to our liberties than standing armies.  If the American people ever allow private banks to control the issue of their currency,  first by inflation, then by deflation, the banks and corporations that will grow up around the banks will deprive the people of all property until their children wake-up homeless on the continent their fathers conquered.

“The essential principles of our Government… form the bright constellation which has gone before us and guided our steps through an age of revolution and reformation. The wisdom of our sages and blood of our heroes have been devoted to their attainment. They should be the creed of our political faith, the text of civic instruction, the touchstone by which to try the services of those we trust; and should we wander from them in moments of error or of alarm, let us hasten to retrace our steps and to regain the road which alone leads to peace, liberty and safety.” –1st Inaugural Address, 1801.

Hat tip to a dear lady in Arizona.

February 19, 2009 - Posted by | In the News

16 Comments »

  1. Superb collection of quotes. Prophet indeed. And exactly what “teh emeny” studied to know how to destroy our success.

    Comment by cmblake6 | February 20, 2009

  2. I’ll forward the email to you CM. It’s a good one to spread around I think, as it reminds people of things they seldom think about.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 20, 2009

  3. Jefferson was indeed a wise man.

    Good post.

    Comment by Always On Watch | February 21, 2009

  4. Yes, Jefferson was a smart man but I regret to inform you that your post is a common chain e-mail full of error but still spread around.

    This web posting gives a pretty detailed account of what is right and wrong about the set of quotes, but let me sum it up:

    Quote 1, on currupt large cities: Slightly inaccurate quote, missing context that Jefferson was speaking of.

    Quote 2, on taking from those that work: Not a Jefferson quote.

    Quote 3, on not leaving debt for the next generation: Accurate quote.

    Quote 4, on wasting labors of the people: Inaccurate quote but subject remains the same so is essentially accurate.

    Quote 5, on too much government: Not a Jefferson quote.

    Quote 6, no man being debarred of the use of arms: Quote is out of context and clearly pertains to arms on your own land, not a general support for the 2nd.

    Quote 7, on strongest reason to keep arms: Not a Jefferson quote.

    Quote 8, on tree of liberty</strong: Accurate quote.

    Quote 9, on people paying taxes on things they disagree: Inaccurate quote but subject remains the same so is essentially accurate.

    Quote 10, banking institutions: Combination of quotes, some from Jefferson, some not, some not even real.

    Sorry.

    Comment by Adam | February 23, 2009

  5. OK Adam, now you have me going again! I’m searching the Jefferson Digital Archieve at the University of Virgina (The University Jefferson built… literally) and not only is Quote two not found and is considered NOT a Jefferson quote, but also Quote 6. Stay tuned…

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 23, 2009

  6. Oh, and by the way, I am on week 3 of this rotton illness, so I haven’t been posting much. I’m still gathering info on the economy and the so called stimulus. LOL!!! I’m still doing a job search too and dealing with insurance issues. Don’t know about anyone else, but it seem’s ole HAM’s work is never done. LOL!!!

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 23, 2009

  7. I like Jefferson a lot though. Ever since I watched the HBO John Adams show I’ve been reading the book John Adams and also the letters between Jefferson and Adams. Good stuff.

    Comment by Adam | February 23, 2009

  8. Yes, and add Ben Franklin to the mix, you get a excellent exchange of ideas that were quite revolutionary for their time frame. I am looking deeper, it’s just hard to find the time right now, with so much going on. But I’m getting some inspiration. The UVA site is very kewl if you are interested in Pure Jefferson. I’ll post a link to it in the morning and add some stuff.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 24, 2009

  9. Jefferson was/is a prophet.

    Comment by Melyssa | February 24, 2009

  10. There is so much out there on our founding fathers and their wisdom. I think I feel inspired to do a little digging in the weeks to come. Proud to see you comment here Melyssa. :-)

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 24, 2009

  11. I just saw Franklin’s grave a few months back on my visit Philly’s old city and the Liberty Bell and all that cool stuff on the grounds there. If you haven’t had the pleasure of viewing the monuments and buildings in that area or even the “Freedom Trail” sites in Boston then I highly recommend them. History doesn’t become very real just in dusty books. Seeing and touching this stuff from our past is incredible.

    Comment by Adam | February 24, 2009

  12. I had the occasion to view the Marble Man sculpture in Lee Chapel on the Washington and Lee University campus, see the Virginia Military Institute, and the Stonewall Jackson cemetery in Lexington, VA. You are right, seeing history by seeing the places where it happened is so much more meaningful. I will have to plan to see the historic parts Philly sometime. I want to go to Gettysburg at some point and could plan to do both.

    I know that sculpture was breath taking. It was the original cover for a sarcoughagus RE Lee was buried in. When it was decided to intomb the entire family in the basement of the chapel, they moved the sculpture up into the chapel. They have a museum of the Lee family’s artifacts, in the basement, before you enter, over on the right side of the door (outside) is where Traveller, Lee’s horse is buried. As you walk inside, to the right is the Lee family crypt, to the left is the office Lee occupied when he was President of Washington College (now W & L University) 1866-1871 and the rest of the basement is the museum.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 25, 2009

  13. I’m living in Delaware (Not far from Big Dog though I haven’t taken him up on his offer for lunch yet [we met once before in AR]) for the next few years and my plan is to get down to Mount Vernon, to Monticello, and up to Valley Forge before I go. I don’t care much for Civil War history as much as for the American Revolution. Even though Gettysburg is not far from here I’m not that excited about it. Must be the results of growing up in the South where people were strange enough to say stuff like “The South will rise again” that turns me off of the whole Civil War thing.

    Comment by Adam | February 27, 2009

  14. My interest in Civil War History is tied to the dynamics of the people in that time frame, the changes as they relate to women, and the fact that I can trace some military family history on both sides of my mother’s family back to that time. There were some phoenominal men that came out of the timeframe, of all ethnicities. It also not only signaled a change in tactics for the military, but in medicine, logistics, naval warfare, and how women were viewed in society. I think the women’s movement had it’s start back then. If this summer I make it to Gettysburg, I’ll let you know. I have a couple of friends who would like to meet up and I would welcome the opportunity to share knowledge and ideas that aren’t typed out! LOL!!!

    I think you should hook up and do lunch with Big Dog sometime Adam. It is so much easier to have a healthy exchange of ideas in person. You many not agree, but I think the web is distructive to the idea that people can be respectful of each other and build productive relationships and not agree a whole lot. I grew up with a family base that was a lot of fire eater types so to speak. My aunts, uncles, and cousins didn’t just hang out with only people they agreed with and considered healthy debate most invigorating and helpful when they didn’t have their mind made up about something. Big Dog doesn’t bite, he’s a very honorable man. Having been a Marine, his bark is bigger than his bite! LOL!!! Anyway, I have a job interview out of town today, so I must go. Hope you have a great day!

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 27, 2009

  15. People get confused by me on Big Dog’s site. I’ve got a long history of heated argument with him now and having met him in person I think that adds a different level to it. Big Dog knows where I stand on a lot of issues and I to him so it makes for good conversation that doesn’t always stay in the realm of decency. People should notice the fact that I try very hard to not get heated with people other than Big Dog on his site but that doesn’t stop people who have no history of talking to me from judging and trying to talk down to me. I can take it though. I’m an adult. I’d like to think I set a good example of that by the way I argue with you on this site. I digress though…

    Comment by Adam | February 27, 2009

  16. Adam, I grew up in a household where everyone was liberal to a degree and Democrat. That demographic changed over time. But one thing I learned was that intelligent debate and sharing information and ideas brings about growth and new ideas. There are some I lose my temper with, but they are usually agressive toward me or insult my faith or belief system. I believe that people can disagree and still exchange ideas, enjoy it, learn new things, be respectful in the process and emerge better for it.

    My brother (still big time liberal) and I get insulting, in a playful way, when we debate sometimes, but there is always respect and love there. It is just the way we kid each other. Families can do that, but it is harder with the electronic medium to have warm hearted exchanges when you aren’t in agreement. It’s harder to see the smile behind the statement or the caring in one’s demeanor. Even the tone of voice makes a difference.

    I view Big Dog as a good man, but I don’t view you any differently. You are welcome here anytime because you do know how to present ideas and not get into the insults. I respect that. And I hope you enjoy the chance to stretch your mind without fear of put downs. That’s not my style and I hope that comes through to most people.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | February 28, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

