Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog

Conservative Views

An Affectionate Good-Bye for Lu

Last night I was notified by my dear PGR brother, that his beloved wife of 45 years has passed away in Arkansas.  She was 84.  This is my tribute to her memory.

Lucille (Lucy) Katherine Harris Olds
(January 23, 1928 – April 21, 2009)

angel

Through my affiliation with the Patriot Guard Riders (PGR),  I have got to know some incredible people.  For those who are not familiar with the organization, it was started by a group that belonged to the American Legion Riders (a club for Veterans who like to ride!); in response to an evil group of people who masquarade as a “church” in Topeka, KS.  They were protesting fallen American heroes at their funerals.  They did so with offensive signs such as “Thank God for Dead Soldiers”, etc, and shouting insults at the families and mourners.  In response, the veterans would show up on motorcycles, form a line between the “protesters” with American flags and bikes and when they started shrilling their insanity, they would “reve up their bikes”, sing patriotic songs or play patriotic music to drown the offending parties out.  There is nothing more sacred than a family’s abilitity to say “good-bye” to a loved one who has sacrificed a young and promising life, in service to their country in time of war.  I was drawn to the organization due to my desire to help sheild these families and show respect for their precious sacrifice.

Bob and Lu Olds are part of the wonderful circle of friends I have made in the PGR.  Here is a man and woman who have dedicated a lifetime of service to our country. Bob served in the military and then as career law enforcement officer in California, and Lu as a Civil Air Patrol member, and as the support system for her husband and children over his career of service.  I don’t think you will find a military, active duty or vet or law enforcement professional who won’t agree, they are only as good as the life-partner who supports them on the homefront.  This couple had 45 years together in support of each other, retired and then proceeded to show us that retirement doesn’t mean you stop living and giving.

Last night I found out that Bob’s precious wife Lu had passed on to our Savior.  I remembered what my father went through when my mother passed on.  My feelings at losing my mother were self-pity and celebration, a mixed bag, but Dad’s feelings were even deeper.  As a Christian, I knew she was with our Lord and no longer was suffering with cancer, but I was not ready to lose my mother, as Dad was not ready to lose his beloved wife.  I learned the meaning of love from my father during those days proceeding and after her death.  So to my dear friend, Bob, I give heartfilled condolences at his time of loss, but also gratitude for the wonderful example their life has been for so many good people like myself.  His precious Lu has now gone on to Glory and will be waiting for him when his time comes, and what a glorious reunion it will be.  As his friend, PGR sister, fellow Christian and American, I pledge love and support always for this good man and the woman who served us all for a lifetime.  I give them both a debt of gratitude for their service and friendship.  Thank you both and God Bless.

God Will Always Love Us

It’s amazing and incredible,
But it’s as true as it can be
God loves and understands us all
And that means you and me.

His grace is all-sufficient
For both the young and old,
For the lonely and the timid,
For the brash and for the bold.

His love knows no exceptions,
So never feel excluded,
No matter who or what you are
Your name has been included.
And no matter what your past has been,
Trust God to understand,

And no matter what your problem is
Just place it in His Hand.
For in all of our unloveliness
This great God loves us still,
He loved us since the world began
And what’s more, He always will!

Written By:
© Helen Steiner Rice

April 24, 2009 - Posted by | Commentaries | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Let me add my prayers for Bob, that he might find solace and peace in this tragic time; I know that his heart is aching; I ask for God to lay His hand upon Bob’s shoulder—to let him know he is not alone at this awful time. Death is the master of us all, but there is great comfort knowing that it is really only the beginning. This is an excellent memorial, Ham … thank you for posting it.

    Comment by Mustang | April 24, 2009

  2. Please accept my condolences.

    Comment by Woody | April 25, 2009

  3. This is beautiful…I’m glad I found your blog at Mustang’s..I always appreciate your comments there and this didn’t let me down, nor did your Viewer Profile..
    Keep it up, Mom…you’re terrific.
    I’m so sad for this loss…prayers going to her family and you.

    Comment by z | April 27, 2009

  4. Thank you z, that is a high complement and appreciated.

    Bob, you and your family are in my prayers tonight. God Bless you.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | April 28, 2009

  5. My condolences on this loss.

    That said, Lu’s life is one to celebrate in fond memory and with strong patriotism.

    Comment by Always On Watch | April 29, 2009

  6. Thanks AOW, I am sure Lu is telling the Angels all about what is going awry with America right now and praying for us all!
    I hope I’m a 10th of the fine woman she’s been when my time is done on the green golf ball.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | April 30, 2009

  7. Hey

    Just a quick hello from as I’m new to the board. I’ve seen some interesting comments so far.

    To be honest I’m new to forums in general :)

    [i]John[/i]

    Comment by Johnzz | March 30, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

