Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog

Conservative Views

Decisions, decisions…

I am always amazed about where my energized faith has lead me.  Decision making is something that human nature leads people to do as a part of our normal, daily functions.  Some people are better at it than others.  All my life,  all of my critical decisions have been made by me and according to “my will” and knowledge.   Quite frankly, not very many have worked out extremely well,  especially when it comes to trying to change the direction of my personal life.  I honestly believe that the ones that have worked out well, were more of a case of God interveining on my behalf, rather than anything I cooked up or did for myself.  He must really feel sorry for us at times when you are out there with the “deer in the headlights look”, kind of like the pity your parents take on you after watching you make a really stupid move,  with disasterous consequences.  So what has God taught me about decision making (you know that’s where I’m leading)???

When you surrender all to God, it is a process.  We are all born with many strengths and weaknesses by God’s own design.  Add to that the baggage that comes with being raised around mere mortals, we become quite into “trying to fix it ourselves”.  When you hand all your problems and issues over to God,  he fills you with the knowledge that with Him, all things are truly possible, along with the desire to know Him and His will and purpose for you.  You read His book (seeking knowledge), you go to him in prayer (connectivity to God), you seek out communion and knowledge from other Christians (fellowship) and his plan starts coming together.   So when you go to him seeking His Will, fill yourself with the knowledge and wisdom you need and connect, and if you have faith, the answers and healing definately come.   Along with those answers you are filled with peace and confidence that the outcome will be the very best, because God’s Will is perfect.  Moving past the pride of wanting to do it yourself and leaning on Him brings you closer to God and makes your life full of blessings, movement, true growth and joy.  When you put your needs and challenges in “God’s to do box”, read His Word, and take your decision making to him in prayer, the outcome truly changes your life and heart for the better, so trust in Him.

I will end this post with the greatest prayer of comfort I can think of.

Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.  He makes me lie down in green pastures,  he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul.  He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.   Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil,  for you are with me;  your rod and your staff,  they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.  You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.  Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

October 3, 2008 - Posted by | Commentaries, God / Jesus Christ

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

