Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog

Conservative Views

Diamond Rio – “In God We Still Trust”

The song you are about to listen to is from a Las Vegas  Diamond Rio concert. They received an immediate resounding standing  ovation, and continue to do so every time they perform it!

Everyone who loves America should be thrilled to hear this song!  Although, Diamond Rio has never before done a statement song,  they felt compelled to record ‘In God We Still Trust.’
But sadly, major radio stations wouldn’t  play it, because it was considered ‘politically incorrect’ …  consequently, the song was never released to the public.

So America , see what you think, and grab the youtube link and share with everyone you know.  It is a beautiful and meaningful song.

November 23, 2008 - Posted by | In the News

14 Comments »

  1. i’ll put this one in my “wednesday singalong” posts – thankx for pointing it out, ham!

    Comment by nanc | November 24, 2008

  2. You are most welcome nanc. It gives me chills it’s so good!

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | November 24, 2008

  3. If it is ever put onto a CD, I would like to buy that CD! If anyone knows if it has, please give me the name of the CD so I can get it. Thank you

    Comment by Cheryl | November 27, 2008

  4. I love this song. I am going to try to get it added to my ipod list! I would think that the Christian radio stations would play this, I listen to a Christian radio station in Madison, WI and this is something I would LOVE to hear on that station! Thank you Diamond Rio for coming up with such a great song!

    Comment by Shelley | December 9, 2008

  5. Song is on Diamond Rio’s Greatest Hits II

    Comment by John | December 12, 2008

  6. Thank you John. Now that should make it easier to locate on iTunes, etc for people.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | December 12, 2008

  7. You can find it on iTunes too.

    Comment by Guy | January 23, 2009

  8. Check out rebuttal to the “politically incorrect” statement.

    http://www.snopes.com/politics/business/diamondrio.asp

    Comment by Ray Jones | January 28, 2009

  9. Not so much “politically incorrect” as factually incorrect. The founding fathers (Jefferson, Washington, Adams, Hamilton, Franklin, Paine, etc)were mostly Deists, not Christians and they would be aghast at the suggestion that the USA was founded as a “Christian Nation”. It is simply not true.

    Revisionist history with a hint of bigotry that only tugs at the heart if the brain is on pause.

    Comment by Omar Pudding | September 2, 2009

  10. Many of the signers of the Declaration of Independence had ties to theology and institutions of learning that were founded by religious leaders of the time. During the highly pressured time frame that the founding fathers were writing the Constitution, when there were many arguments going on and stress, It was Benjamin Franklin who suggested that they start “praying again” before each session. The prayer made is part of the record, and I guarantee it was not made to Allah. They saw fit to put In God We Trust on our money when it was designed.

    A deist believes in a supreme being, but not in religion being the only way to acknowledge said being. It is documented that there were more Christians in the Continental Congress than deists. I tend to believe it is your history that has been slanted in order to disavow this part of American History. There is no bigotry involved. The only bigotry is the bigotry used when people try to write Christianity and it’s importance in American History out of the entire book.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | September 3, 2009

  11. The very name ‘Christianity’ denotes Jesus Christ as the center of the religion, and the symbol of Christianity has been the cross since at least the third century C.E. If Christianity had been the religious focus for America, why did they choose a design that simply acknowledged an all-seeing God rather than a symbolism for Christianity?

    And it is interesting that you should mention Allah. I have not seen the prayer that Benjamin Franklin prayed. Did it mention Jehovah? Yahweh? After all – that is the name of God in the Christian Bible. ‘God’ is simply a title for the Supreme Being: the God of Abraham. ‘Allah’ is the Muslim title for the same person: the God of Abraham.

    Comment by Ray Jones | September 3, 2009

  12. Ray, I will not say you are wrong as everyone perceives things their own way, but the first settlers came here to have “religious freedom”. I think you would be hard pressed to find anyone of a religious faith in our founders time frame that weren’t of the Christian faith. The vast majority of settlers at that time were Christian or non-believers in any faith. Even up to WWII, this was a predominately Christian nation. You can argue all day long, I do not intend to pay much attention from this point because the point isn’t that important. State what you believe and I’ll leave it up. Right now I think it is a matter of opinion.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | September 3, 2009

  13. State my belief(s)? Okay. 1. Trust only comes where there is a relationship. 2. Relationships only happen where there is communication. 3. The majority of people in the U.S. don’t know (or care to know) enough about God to truly trust. 4. The majority of Americans are not Christians. 5. The majority of Christians in the U.S. are observers who believe more in the morality and historical continuity of attending church than they do in God.

    So I don’t know who the “We” is in the song – as I see it, it must be a personal statement. I can’t see that “We” reflects reality of the United States of America in any way, shape or form.

    Comment by Ray Jones | September 3, 2009

  14. Ray, where I can understand what you are saying, I find it to be a bit judgmental of people. I don’t pretend to know what is in people’s hearts and minds. I only know what resides in mine. I see things happen with some that is supposedly in God’s name that the Bible states is unGodly and shake my head. (ie. attacks on abortionists, etc). Part of being Christian is living a Godly life. My definition of a Godly life is trying to live as Christ lived. A relationship with Christ is personal, between an individual and Christ. And it is honest. One being honest with themselves. I cannot say I disagree with what you are saying, but I think perhaps you view is a bit more cynical than my own. The song is just an expression of one person’s feelings about their ability to express their feelings about God in the American culture. We have reached a point where the first amendment right only applies to everyone who is not of the Christian faith IMHO.

    I prefer to think that most people in the world are inherently decent and it is the people who aren’t that get our attention through the media and color our world view many times. The only thing I would add to what you stated above is that in order to have effective communication one must first be honest with themselves so they can be honest with others and one must have the ability to clear their minds and truly listen to others. Where I am cynical, is that I don’t believe that the majority of people are truly honest with themselves because self honesty can be painful and human nature is to avoid pain, and people usually are so busy thinking through their own point of view, they rarely are able to focus and listen to what others have to say. Ineffective communication negates our ability to compromise, and compromise is the mother of problem solving. I don’t know if this makes sense to you, but my thoughts are colored by my own path in life. Feel free to express your point of view. I find it interesting and stimulating.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | September 4, 2009


Leave a Reply

