Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog

Conservative Views

Christmas Thoughts and Ideas…

troopschristmas

Update:  12/22/08  –  Just a reminder, it is not too late to give a gift of love and support for our troops.  Please log on and give a troop in harms way the gift of hearing the voices they love on Christmas Day!  No gift can fill more hearts with joy for just $18!!!

Now that “Black Friday Sales” are happening, I would like to suggest how to put “the spirit of Christ” back into Christmas.

As we all know, with a tough economy it is going to be a rough time this Christmas Season.  So this is my plan.

The AAFES (Online Military Exchange Store) is making it possible to buy phone cards for deployed troops at the PX discount rate and tax free!!!  You can go here and look at all the great things you can do for our troops at the website. www.aafes.org

So, what is my plan?  Every gift I buy will come accompanied with a card telling the recipient that a soldier, sailor, airmen or marine will be recieving $20 worth of gift minutes on their behalf to talk to their loved ones over the holiday season!  My Christmas gift to me will be as many minutes as I can afford and as many prayers as I can offer to families who are waiting for their trooper to come home safe and sound.  What better way to say thank you to our troops and their families who support them.  I think I may well get excited this holiday season.  Thanks to our Dept. of Defense for making the discount, tax free minutes so easy to get over the holiday!

Merry Christmas to our Troops!  yellow_ribbon1

November 28, 2008 - Posted by | Government, In the News | , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. […] Christmas Thoughts and Ideas… « Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog The AAFES (Online Military Exchange Store) is making it possible to buy phone cards for deployed troops at the PX discount rate and tax free!!! You can go here and look at all the great things you can do for our troops at the website. … […]

    Pingback by Clinton On Best Political Blogs » Blog Archive » Christmas Thoughts and Ideas… « Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog | November 28, 2008

  2. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onChristmas Thoughts and Ideasâ?¦ « Hoosier Army Momâ??s WeblogHere’s a quick excerptAs we all know, with a tough economy it is going to be a rough time this Christmas Season. So this is my plan. The AAFES (Online Military Exchange Store) is making it possible to buy phone cards for deployed troops at the PX discount … […]

    Pingback by Chrismas Sale Online » Blog Archive » Christmas Thoughts and Ideas… « Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog | November 28, 2008

  3. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onChristmas Thoughts and Ideasâ?¦ « Hoosier Army Momâ??s WeblogHere’s a quick excerptChristmas Thoughts and Ideas… troopschristmas. Now that “Black Friday Sales” are happening, I would like to suggest how to put “the spirit of Christ” back into Christmas. As we all know, with a tough economy it is going to be a rough … […]

    Pingback by Best X-Mas For You » Blog Archive » Christmas Thoughts and Ideas… « Hoosier Army Mom’s Weblog | November 30, 2008

  4. Wow! What a brilliant and thoughtful idea. On behalf of the AAFES blogging team, thank you very much for spreading the word about the phone cards. The gift of a loved one’s voice is truly priceless.

    Comment by Lauren Vargas | December 2, 2008

  5. You are most welcome. I saw the bit on the news and wrote down the website to do the post. It is the least anyone can do to show love and support.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | December 2, 2008

  6. a wondy idea, h.a.m.!

    also remember to donate your old cell phones for refurbishment to give to our troops.

    somewhat o.t. – i read a very good jack kelley commentary on this season and what it means versus what it SHOULD mean.

    Comment by nanc | December 2, 2008

  7. And it just so happens I have my old cell phone complete with 2 home chargers and a car charger. I was going to give it to Verizon to refurb for battered women’s shelters, but I like the troop idea better. 🙂 I donate to the shelters anyway.

    The Jack Kelley commentary seems to be quite on topic I’d say! Excellent.

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | December 2, 2008

  8. Nice find.

    There was also some other site where you could support the troops for free by doing something, I can’t recall the name unfortunately though. But I’ll be sure to take note of this.

    Comment by HoosierTalk | December 6, 2008

  9. Very good idea. I will look into this later this week.

    My wife has a cousin in Afghanistan. We have a lot to be thankful for, it’s the least I can do.

    Thanks for the info.

    Comment by LASunsett | December 8, 2008

  10. My pleasure. Move America Forward has a coffee and cookies for troops program too I’m going to put up as well. 🙂

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | December 8, 2008

  11. Welcome to the Carnival of Christmas, 2008!…

    “ Glory to God in the highest, And on earth peace, goodwill toward men!” It is truly an honor and a joy to be able to host this wonderful Carnival again. I had so much fun last year that I pretty much badgered poor Adam Graham into letting me do……

    Trackback by CatHouse Chat | December 24, 2008

  12. That’s a wonderful idea you’ve thought of!

    I’ve never visited you before, but came over to see the other post that won one of the “Pride of Place” honors on Kats Carnival of Christmas post. I’m the other one who won that honor, but Kat truly has a great collection of Christmas Posts!

    Thank you for your thinking of the military. When my husband was in Vietnam this country did nothing for the military. I’m so happy to find that things have changed in that regard. There are still people who treat our military dishonorably, but the great majority of Americans cherish the military – as you do. Thank you, and MERRY CHRISTMAS to you and yours!

    Comment by Gayle | December 24, 2008

  13. Thank you Gayle, and congratulations on being so honored by Kat, I just love what she does. I think the heart and spirit of our blogging community is like no other. I hope you were able to read my post on Nam Vets and share it with you husband. It is totally from the heart and please give him a “Welcome Hope” and “Thanks” from me for Christmas!

    Comment by hoosierarmymom | December 24, 2008

  14. my school is having a art contest in the school newspaper and i had an idea this morning and i just can’t find the pics I’m needing but maybe I’ll put this pic in the drawing. thanks for the help 😀

    Comment by magen | November 25, 2009


Leave a Reply

